Vikings coach Brad Childress hasn’t decided whether to fine running back Adrian Peterson for missing mandatory minicamp practices, but the state of Minnesota has decided to fine him $378 for speeding.
Peterson will pay a $300 fine and $78 in surcharges after pleading guilty to driving 99 mph in a 55 mph zone, the Associated Press reports. He has also been ordered to do 16 hours of community service.
Based on the Associated Press report, it sounds like Peterson got off easy here: Peterson will keep his driver’s license even though he was clocked at 109 mph in a 55 mph zone. Minnesota law says that a driver’s license will be revoked for at least six months for driving over 100 mph, but Peterson was able to reach an agreement earlier this month to plead guilty to an amended charge that reduced his speed to 99 mph.