Skip to content

Moss to Favre on Vikings' first play

Before the Vikings unveiled a Brett Favre-to-Randy Moss passing attack, they decided to go with Randy Moss-to-Brett Favre.

On the Vikings’ first offensive play tonight against the Jets, they called for a little razzle dazzle, with a reverse to Moss, who looked to throw deep downfield, couldn’t find anyone open, and then dumped off a short pass to Favre.

Unfortunately, Favre wasn’t an eligible receiver, so the play was called back.

The Vikings were held without a first down and had to punt on their first offensive possession.

Permalink 52 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Minnesota Vikings, New York Jets, Rumor Mill, Sprint Football Live - Rumors, Top Stories
52 Responses to “Moss to Favre on Vikings' first play”
  1. superb owl says: Oct 11, 2010 9:24 PM

    he’s not an OL. ref call makes no sense.
    of course the play call also made no sense.

  2. JagsW1r3d says: Oct 11, 2010 9:29 PM

    lol

  3. MEDTXPACK says: Oct 11, 2010 9:29 PM

    its cool to see them have some fun out there. good for the ratings too- but in the end, screw em both, go pack go!

  4. jimmySee says: Oct 11, 2010 9:30 PM

    No one down field — Randy couldn’t throw to himself!

  5. RedLeg15 says: Oct 11, 2010 9:36 PM

    I have been involved in Organized football essentially my entire life. How is a QB an ineligible receiver because he lines up under center? PFT is this an NFL only rule? or a MNF the Refs don’t know WTF they are doing rule?

  6. Franchise says: Oct 11, 2010 9:36 PM

    It was commical.
    @MEDTXPACK
    Have fun losing AGAIN next week without Rodgers or Matthews.

  7. youboettcha says: Oct 11, 2010 9:37 PM

    Why wasn’t Favre an eligible receiver?

  8. superb owl says: Oct 11, 2010 9:37 PM

    latest tv word is bert is a wrangler guy.
    a penis-wrangler, that is.

  9. Cup says: Oct 11, 2010 9:46 PM

    he’s not an OL. ref call makes no sense.
    of course the play call also made no sense.
    ————————————————–
    An eligible receiver must be at the end of the O-line (TE, WR or Tackle)or in a RB position. He cannot take the snap then receive the ball in the same play, just like if Ronnie Brown takes the snap in the wildcat, he is no longer an eligible receiver. That is why when an o-lineman registers as a receiver, they call it Tackle-eligible, meaning he is a tackle, at the end of the line, and is letting the defense know he may catch the ball.
    The QB is not an eligible receiver unless he splits out to WR. The QB may not declare himself eligible either, basically it is for the sake of competition as the league protects QBs.

  10. Unnamed Source says: Oct 11, 2010 9:46 PM

    Hey Brett spend more time practicing and less time taking photos of your junk

  11. daburgh says: Oct 11, 2010 9:48 PM

    Any player that lines up UNDER center is ineligible as a receiver. If the player is in a shot-gun formation, then he is eligible.
    The refs got it right. Thems the rules folks!

  12. superb owl says: Oct 11, 2010 9:55 PM

    so. cup, if farve didnt take the snap and wasnt an interior OL, he would have been eligible?
    like i said, chilly’s call made no sense.
    but i thought it was a legal play. it should be.

  13. RedLeg15 says: Oct 11, 2010 9:57 PM

    —Cup— So it is an NFL only rule then?

  14. UptownDrew says: Oct 11, 2010 9:59 PM

    “Of the players on the line of scrimmage, only the two players on the ends of the line of scrimmage are eligible receivers. The four remaining players in the backfield (five in Canadian football), including the quarterback, are also eligible receivers—except in the National Football League, where a quarterback in the “T” Formation is never eligible.”
    The call was indeed botched by the officials.

  15. Hoosierdude says: Oct 11, 2010 10:00 PM

    “Randy & The Redneck” Chapter 1.

  16. heavythumb says: Oct 11, 2010 10:05 PM

    i seem to remember QB Tommy Kramer pulling in the first receiving TD of the season many moons ago on a similar play. (No, I’m not kidding)
    Did the rule change?

  17. Notoroius B.U.G. says: Oct 11, 2010 10:08 PM

    Excuse my ignorance here…but I’m curious about something. Jets had 3rd & 15 @ their own 9 yard line in the 1st quarter. Holmes was called for holding – 10 yard penalty. The next play it was still 3rd & 15 at the Jets’ 9 yard line…why didn’t they go back to the 4 1/2 yard line?

  18. Pervy's Stepdad says: Oct 11, 2010 10:10 PM

    To the MN fans crying about the foul…it’s because he took the snap from center. If he lines up as a back other than QB, he’s eligible. Other than that, only players outside the tackles, such as TE, WR and Slot are eligible. No wonder you follow the Vikings, you don’t understand the rules.

  19. Pervy's Stepdad says: Oct 11, 2010 10:12 PM

    Uptown, it was not botched. You just don’t know the NFL rules….maybe if Favre plays for Saskatchewan he would be eligible.

  20. BigBear123 says: Oct 11, 2010 10:18 PM

    The Vikes have one first down since then.
    Moss is non existent.

  21. Gautam says: Oct 11, 2010 10:18 PM

    I think the logic would be that if you are protecting the QB so much, you cannot have him as a receiver. The offense cannot have it both ways!

  22. dare2bme says: Oct 11, 2010 10:24 PM

    A couple of questions about the rule:
    1. Is every snap taken from under center considered some variation of the T-formation?
    2. Is the QB at least 1 yard behind the LOS?
    If yes to 1, he is ineligible all the time…he can only legally catch a tipped pass. The same is true if you say no to 2. However, if 1 is no and 2 is yes, then he is eligible unless they had 3 RB’s on the field and actually were in a T-formation.

  23. Dryheave says: Oct 11, 2010 10:28 PM

    wow….Moss is really making a difference for the Vikes…..difference being, NOW THEY CAN’T SCORE ANY FREEKING POINTS AT ALL!

  24. bruinscup says: Oct 11, 2010 10:30 PM

    This is one of the most pathetic offensive displays in the history of professional football. The Vikings ship is taking on water and half submerged.

  25. bruinscup says: Oct 11, 2010 10:31 PM

    This is one of the most pathetic offensive displays in the history of professional football. The Vikings ship is taking on water and half submerged.

  26. ryanmc says: Oct 11, 2010 10:34 PM

    # Notoroius B.U.G. says: October 11, 2010 10:08 PM
    “Excuse my ignorance here…but I’m curious about something. Jets had 3rd & 15 @ their own 9 yard line in the 1st quarter. Holmes was called for holding – 10 yard penalty. The next play it was still 3rd & 15 at the Jets’ 9 yard line…why didn’t they go back to the 4 1/2 yard line?”
    Don’t remember the specific yard lines on the play, but holding is 10 yards from the spot of the foul, not the line of scrimmage. Holmes was blocking downfield.

  27. RagnarTheBloodAxe says: Oct 11, 2010 10:35 PM

    Florio, check this…
    In the 1st quarter…
    Jets are 3rd and 15 at their own 9. They get called for a holding penalty. The next play?
    Jets are 3rd and 15 from their own 9. They get the 1st down.
    What happened to the penalty yards???

  28. bruinscup says: Oct 11, 2010 10:36 PM

    At least Favre can hide under his raincoat now.

  29. bruinscup says: Oct 11, 2010 10:38 PM

    At least Favre can hide under his raincoat now.

  30. JJV says: Oct 11, 2010 10:44 PM

    # RagnarTheBloodAxe says: October 11, 2010 10:35 PM
    Florio, check this…
    In the 1st quarter…
    Jets are 3rd and 15 at their own 9. They get called for a holding penalty. The next play?
    Jets are 3rd and 15 from their own 9. They get the 1st down.
    What happened to the penalty yards???
    ————————–
    Because the penalty yards were from the spot of the foul since the holding penalty was downfield.

  31. Colorado Thistle says: Oct 11, 2010 10:45 PM

    Favre really got exposed on that play.

  32. Notoroius B.U.G. says: Oct 11, 2010 10:46 PM

    “Don’t remember the specific yard lines on the play, but holding is 10 yards from the spot of the foul, not the line of scrimmage. Holmes was blocking downfield.”
    I skipped back and both plays were 3rd and 15 from the 9…holding is a 10 yard penalty is it not??
    http://www.nfl.com/rulebook/penaltysummaries
    Listed under 10 yards – Holding, illegal use of hands, arms, or body by offense.

  33. Notoroius B.U.G. says: Oct 11, 2010 10:47 PM

    “Because the penalty yards were from the spot of the foul since the holding penalty was downfield.”
    Thank you. Makes sense.

  34. mikemcsaint says: Oct 11, 2010 10:52 PM

    First half – 20 plays for 52 yards.

  35. leaguemvp says: Oct 11, 2010 10:56 PM

    Man, either the vikings offense looks real bad or the jets defense looks real good. or its both.

  36. MNSUX says: Oct 11, 2010 11:01 PM

    Favre just set a record!!!!
    Most fumbles in a career!!!!

  37. wozzemoto says: Oct 11, 2010 11:04 PM

    yeah,that favre is lights out alright,,,,,,,,,lol

  38. FavresMysteriousAilment says: Oct 11, 2010 11:04 PM

    superb owl says:
    October 11, 2010 9:55 PM
    so. cup, if farve didnt take the snap and wasnt an interior OL, he would have been eligible?
    like i said, chilly’s call made no sense.
    but i thought it was a legal play. it should be.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Correct. It is anywhere else but the NFL…He could move to flanker, wideout or any RB position and then catch the ball…under center means under center…ready to get the ball directly hand to hand from the center. (Also the only way a spike to stop the clock is a legal move…at any level)

  39. TakingBackSundays says: Oct 11, 2010 11:07 PM

    Not sure why Favre wouldn’t have been eligible. I’ve seen QB’s make catches downfield multiple times during trick plays.
    Here’s one such play as an example:
    [URL=”http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-cant-miss-plays/09000d5d80bf2cd7/WK-8-Can-t-Miss-Play-Smith-to-Flacco”]http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-cant-miss-plays/09000d5d80bf2cd7/WK-8-Can-t-Miss-Play-Smith-to-Flacco[/URL]
    So what’s the difference? Did the refs mess this one up?

  40. hrmlss says: Oct 11, 2010 11:09 PM

    Vikings 1-3 LOL Pervey and Contra

  41. Craphonso says: Oct 11, 2010 11:10 PM

    8:49 left in the 3rd Quarter and here’s how Brett has risen to the occasion: 3/7, 31 yds & 2 fumbles lost.
    Oh yeah, it’s just like the night after his Dad died. . .

  42. BigBear123 says: Oct 11, 2010 11:12 PM

    Favre clearly isnt distracted.

  43. hrmlss says: Oct 11, 2010 11:32 PM

    I just got a text from Brett, I’m scared to open it. Small penis’s scare me.

  44. El Guapo says: Oct 11, 2010 11:38 PM

    The Vikings look suprisingly sloppy and unprepared considering they had an extra week to get ready for this game. Once again that comes back to coaching. Sorta like the first play…shouldn’t the coaches check the rule book before breaking out the trick plays to see if they’re actually legal?
    Could someone explain to me why free agent Kevin Mawae hasn’t been on this team since training camp, you know, when they first knew they had major issues with the center position.

  45. RagnarTheBloodAxe says: Oct 12, 2010 12:07 AM

    # RagnarTheBloodAxe says: October 11, 2010 10:35 PM
    Florio, check this…
    In the 1st quarter…
    Jets are 3rd and 15 at their own 9. They get called for a holding penalty. The next play?
    Jets are 3rd and 15 from their own 9. They get the 1st down.
    What happened to the penalty yards???
    ——————– ——
    Because the penalty yards were from the spot of the foul since the holding penalty was downfield.
    ——————– ——
    That’s not accurate. Holding is from the spot of the foul only for defensive holding. It’s 10 yards from the line of scrimmage for offensive holding.
    Or in this case, it should have been half the distance to the goal. Making it 3rd and about 20, instead of 3rd and 15. As anyone who knows football can tell you, that extra 5 yards makes all the difference in the world.

  46. FavresMysteriousAilment says: Oct 12, 2010 12:15 AM

    Does anyone find it comical that Lord Favre can pump his arm like he just won his first Super Bowl, yet he throws a lob over the middle…realizes a camera is on him, and then reaches for the elbow…?
    This is the OUT CLAUSE for if/when Goodell and the League suspend his prevert ass.
    That said, the guy is f-ing insane yet.

  47. FavresMysteriousAilment says: Oct 12, 2010 12:20 AM

    Did I just see Rex Ryan pull the clock management version of Mike McCarthy…? OMG..

  48. Craphonso says: Oct 12, 2010 12:25 AM

    hrmlss says: October 11, 2010 11:32 PM
    I just got a text from Brett, I’m scared to open it. Small penis’s scare me
    ***************************************
    FYI: http://theoatmeal.com/comics/apostrophe

  49. FavresMysteriousAilment says: Oct 12, 2010 1:10 AM

    RagnarTheBloodAxe says:
    October 12, 2010 12:07 AM
    That’s not accurate. Holding is from the spot of the foul only for defensive holding. It’s 10 yards from the line of scrimmage for offensive holding.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Correct. Goes from the previous spot in the NFL….lower levels it is from the spot of the foul…no matter how far backwards…10 yards and down repeated. (Safety if in Endzone).

  50. antalicus says: Oct 12, 2010 1:12 AM

    If it wasn’t for this incorrect call the Vikings would have won…. the real mistake was them trying to force the run too much. I didn’t see Shiancoe for the first half.

  51. Slow Joe says: Oct 12, 2010 1:36 AM

    Jeez, I’m glad the NFL doesn’t get its refs from the comment section of this blog. Almost every declaration I’ve read here from someone who supposedly knows the rules has been dead wrong.
    1. Favre was ineligible because he was under center, not because he is a QB. If he would have been in shotgun formation, he’s an eligible receiver. There’s been many plays in NFL history where teams have taken advantage of this. Ronnie Brown is always eligible as long as he never takes a snap under center.
    2. That’s not accurate. Holding is from the spot of the foul only for defensive holding. It’s 10 yards from the line of scrimmage for offensive holding.
    Incorrect. Holding is definitely a spot foul for offensive plays occurring past the line of scrimmage. Behind the line of scrimmage, I believe it is limited to being ten yards from the line of scrimmage.
    Think about it. It’s only common sense. If a running back breaks off a 65 yard run for a TD and a wide receiver commits a holding penalty near the goal line just as the RB is about to cross it , you’re not going to bring the offense all the way back to the original line of scrimmage. It would be an unduly harsh penalty and it wouldn’t make any sense. Come on, use your head.

  52. tooz56 says: Oct 12, 2010 8:18 AM

    Didn’t read all these comments, but the QB has to be in shotgun to be an eligible receiver.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!