Skip to content

NFL names finalists for Walter Payton Man of the Year Award

The NFL has only three official postseason awards:  the Super Bowl MVP, the Pro Bowl MVP, and the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award.

The first two will be determined based on the things that happen on the field during the last two games of the 2010 season.  The third one will go to one of three men based largely on the things they’ve done off the field.

The NFL has announced that the finalists for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award are Raiders cornerback Nnamdi Asomugha, Bears defensive lineman Israel Idonije, and Vikings safety Madieu Williams.

The winner will be announced prior to Super Bowl XLV.  Asomugha and Idonije will attend the ceremony; Williams has a pre-existing commitment to visit U.S. troops in the Persian Gulf.

Last year, the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award went to Chiefs guard Brian Waters.

Permalink 16 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Chicago Bears, Minnesota Vikings, Oakland Raiders, Rumor Mill, Sprint Football Live - Rumors, Top Stories
16 Responses to “NFL names finalists for Walter Payton Man of the Year Award”
  1. atcojack says: Jan 23, 2011 5:23 PM

    Thumbs up for Walter Payton. He really was a great man!

  2. tbd3 says: Jan 23, 2011 5:25 PM

    “Williams has a pre-existing commitment to visit U.S. troops in the Persian Gulf.”

    How convenient! Now they pretty much [i]have[/i] to vote for him…

  3. mimitaroo says: Jan 23, 2011 5:38 PM

    Does Jay Cutler lead the nominees for the Woman of the year award?

  4. rectumnearlykilledem says: Jan 23, 2011 5:40 PM

    What, no Ben Roethlisberger?

  5. vicktator says: Jan 23, 2011 5:44 PM

    no cutler?

  6. bigbensrapevictim says: Jan 23, 2011 5:46 PM

    Walter Payton died of AIDS.

    Fly Eagles Fly

  7. gogronk says: Jan 23, 2011 5:48 PM

    Is this the names I can’t spell award?

  8. bison10 says: Jan 23, 2011 6:16 PM

    Walter Payton did not die of AIDS! he died of liver disease! get your facts straight!!!!!

  9. Burritto says: Jan 23, 2011 6:27 PM

    If you scrambled up the letters that comprised Nnamdi Asomugha, Israel Idonije, and Madieu Williams and asked someone to unscramble the letters to make the names of three NFL players, it would NEVER get done.

  10. rovibe says: Jan 23, 2011 7:37 PM

    “The Madieu Williams Foundation reaches out to youth and teaches them at an early age the importance of a healthy lifestyle. In 2009, Williams donated $2 million to the University of Maryland to help create the Madieu Williams Center for Global Health Initiatives.”


    His salary in 2009 was $4.7 million BEFORE taxes. He then donated $2 million? Good for him. Give him the award.

  11. coachstram says: Jan 23, 2011 9:40 PM

    So I guess the media and the NFL are finally finished stuffing Drew Brees down our throats.

    What took ya so long?

  12. granadafan says: Jan 23, 2011 11:09 PM

    Nnamdi, Israel, and Madieu. Are the qualifications for this award to have non-anglo names?

    Congrats to these guys though.

  13. norcalraider510 says: Jan 24, 2011 1:17 AM

    nnamdi has done so much for the city of oakland i really dont care if he wins but he is a great man and has done a great job

  14. quizguy66 says: Jan 24, 2011 1:23 AM

    1) I can’t believe anyone would give a thumbs down for Sweetness. Seriously.

    2) Pulling for Madieu the former Bengal! Wish he were still in Cincy 😦


  15. jgrange says: Jan 24, 2011 2:07 AM

    Granted, I’m not a huge follower of the Bears and Vikings players off the field but you could make a case Nnamdi could be nominated every year for what he does. I will have to go look up these other guys to see what they’re doing. Should be feel good research.

  16. theytukrjobs says: Jan 24, 2011 8:46 AM

    Having pre-existing plans to visit troops in the Gulf during the Super Bowl = Checkmate.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!