But Suh would like to point out that he only after Mankins after Mankins had grabbed Detroit’s Lawrence Jackson by the facemask, and it was Mankins, not Suh, who got called for a penalty.
“Do I regret it? No,” Suh said. “But the funny thing about the whole situation is, I wasn’t the one who got the 15-yard penalty for grabbing a face mask. And the other funny piece about it is, I didn’t know you can’t help protect one of your teammates.”
Suh said he talked to the referee afterward and felt good about it.
“I had a great conversation with the ref,” Suh said, “and he said, ‘Next time make sure you let me handle it. But I understand what you were doing, helping your teammate out and removing him from the situation.’”
So from Suh’s perspective, he was really just playing peacemaker.