It was ironic, to say the least, that on the same day Seahawks coach Pete Carroll launched a Win Forever media blitz (I received at least two emails from his P.R. people about it), he once again has been connected to the specter of cheating.
But we’ll give Coach C. a break this time around in large part because, according to the league office, the NFL chose not to fine him for the “live contact” that occurred during a recent Seahawks OTA session.
The CBA mandates the imposition on the head coach of a $100,000 fine for a first offense. However, Article 21, Section 8(d)(i) provides that the Commissioner has the “sole discretion” (there’s a shock) to fine the head coach a lesser amount — or no amount — if the Commissioner determines the conduct was based on a “good faith interpretation” of the offseason workout rules or that it was not a “material” violation.
It’s currently unknown how the violation occurred, so it’s impossible to know why Carroll wasn’t fined.
For now, it appears the violation may have had something to do with events that triggered a recent fight between members of the secondary and receiving corps, especially since safety DeShawn Shead reportedly “almost took [receiver Doug] Baldwin’s head off” on a pass over the middle.
Though the precise line between “live contact” and, um, “non-live contact” isn’t clear, partial decapitation would likely be on the wrong side of the boundary.