Thanks to two prior incidents (three, counting his postgame joyride at Cal), most in the media are assuming that Seahawks running back Marshawn Lynch will absorb a lengthy suspension if convicted of DUI.
But DUIs don’t fall under the personal-conduct policy. Drunk driving gets processed under the substance-abuse policy. And the substance-abuse policy provides that, ordinarily, a player will only be fined for a first-offense DUI.
That said, a suspension may be imposed if the league finds “aggravating circumstances,” which could in the opinion of the judge/jury/executioner include a past history of non-DUI infractions. ”Aggravating circumstances” also could arise from the contention that Lynch nearly struck a pair of cars.
Regardless, a suspension isn’t as automatic as everyone seems to believe it is. While a suspension could indeed occur, it’s not guaranteed.
And, yes, my editorial discretion in deciding to post this item was influenced by the opportunity of adding video of Lynch driving a cart on a football field.