Skip to content

McCluster exits with elbow injury on controversial play

Dexter McCluster AP

In a play that was reminiscent of last year’s Victor Cruz maneuver at Arizona, Chiefs receiver Dexter McCluster left the ball on the field after injuring his elbow while falling to the ground.

McCluster suffered the injury after stretching out to catch a ball that was behind him, using his arm to brace his fall.  The arm extended awkwardly.

The officials ruled that McCluster was down, although it wasn’t as clear as it was on the Cruz play that McCluster was declaring himself down.

After a challenge from the Saints, the call on the field was overturned, giving the Saints possession at the spot of the recovery.  If the call had been ruled that way at the time, it would have been a touchdown for the Saints.

“I don’t agree with the ruling,” NBC officiating consultant Jim Daopoulos said in the viewing room.  “He was injured.  It’s like he’s saying, ‘I’m down.’  He’s not trying to gain any yardage.”

Permalink 9 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Kansas City Chiefs, New Orleans Saints, Rumor Mill, Top Stories
9 Responses to “McCluster exits with elbow injury on controversial play”
  1. thrillheaux says: Sep 23, 2012 2:58 PM

    The injury occurred just as he hit the ground and the ball immediately popped out. It’s not like me messed up his shoulder, then went to the ground, or even hit the ground, got injured, then let go of the ball moments later.

  2. Mr. Wright 212 says: Sep 23, 2012 3:00 PM

    Ridiculous.

  3. khuxford says: Sep 23, 2012 3:09 PM

    So…unless the refs get turnovers wrong in the last two minutes of the game, we’re not going to acknowledge that they could decide the game?

  4. thrillheaux says: Sep 23, 2012 3:23 PM

    Mike Pereira is one of the best in the business and he agrees that the refs made the right call on the play. Everyone that disagrees is either not watching the game or being convinced by that genius Dan Dierdorf.

  5. uglynora says: Sep 23, 2012 3:27 PM

    This is the dumbest post I’ve ever read on ProFootballTalk. He didn’t declare himself down. The only controversy is in Dan Dierdorf’s mind and apparently, now, Mike Florio’s. McCluster caught the ball and fell. When he fell, he hurt his arm and dropped the ball. He NEVER gave himself up. If you want to look for a controversy, look at the Pierre Thomas TD they took away.

  6. afiresnake says: Sep 23, 2012 3:29 PM

    Anybody elaborate on the “ground cannot cause a fumble” rule?

  7. eaglesfan2 says: Sep 23, 2012 3:32 PM

    This is absurd. By the way this call was determined, then NO ONE should have anything to say about Schiano’s Bucs trying to get the ball from Manning. Obviously, to be down, one must be touched and the ball carrier must be in contact with the ground either by knee, elbow, ass.
    Also, hasn’t anyone thought of giving the coaches 5 challenges per half? It’s obviously the only way to keep these incompetents in check!

  8. phloorioisanarcissist says: Sep 23, 2012 3:33 PM

    thrillheaux says:

    The injury occurred just as he hit the ground and the ball immediately popped out. It’s not like me messed up his shoulder, then went to the ground, or even hit the ground, got injured, then let go of the ball moments later.

    ————————————————–

    What game were you watching? Clearly Charles gave himself up. He let go of the ball AFTER he stopped rolling as he had hyperextended his arm. ‘Thrillheaux’ is a perfect example of another blind Saints fan that will believe anything other than the truth as long as it’s good for the Saints.

    All that being said, I wouldn’t watch another Chiefs game until they decide to bench Matt Cassel. He’s been a problem since coming to KC. He stares down his receivers, has no consistancy (other than making bad decisions) and can’t throw downfield for the life of him. It’s not completely his fault they continue to lose though. The defense looks out of sorts as well. He has plenty of time to throw, but he’s indecisive and won’t get rid of the ball.

  9. jpspear says: Sep 24, 2012 5:59 AM

    As far as the ground not causing a fumble, the player has to be touched by a defender first, which he clearly wasn’t.

    Watch the play at regular speed. There’s just no reasonable way to make the assumption he gave himself up.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!