Skip to content

Official says Williams already in end zone when phantom whistle blew

DeAngelo Williams, Perry Riley AP

Officials in Washington admitted an inadvertent whistle on a DeAngelo Williams touchdown run, but said the Panthers running back was already in the end zone when it blew.

Referee Carl Cheffers said in a pool report that Williams’ 30-yard touchdown run in the first quarter stood because the offensive team has a choice to take the result of the play or replay the down in such an occurrence.

“Yes. The line judge blew his whistle,” Cheffers said. “We had a lot of discussion about it. We just felt when the whistle blew, that the player would have already scored a touchdown. So, we tried to piece together if we had to spot — by rule, we would have to put him down when the whistle blew, and we tried to decide where that spot would be, and we felt that spot would be in the end zone. . . .

“Yep. That by the time the whistle blew, he had already crossed the goal line. That was our decision, and that’s why I announced that the ruling on the field is touchdown.”

Redskins coach Mike Shanahan said he was having a discussion over whether there was a hold on the play, and the Redskins likely weren’t going to get into a debate after DeAngelo Hall’s ejection last week.

Permalink 23 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Carolina Panthers, Home, Rumor Mill, Washington Redskins
23 Responses to “Official says Williams already in end zone when phantom whistle blew”
  1. leafeaterx says: Nov 4, 2012 6:03 PM

    Will they stand by that after watching the replay?

  2. amaf21 says: Nov 4, 2012 6:15 PM

    And DHall got tha sh!t held out of him.

  3. beavertonsteve says: Nov 4, 2012 6:29 PM

    That official needs to be fired for not speaking up and allowing that touchdown to stand when it was blatantly obvious that he blew his whistle multiple times while Williams was still far from the endzone. The mistake of blowing the whistle early is forgivable, but by not speaking up and allowing the score to stand he intentionally circumvented the rules and tried to cover up his own mistake. It could have impacted the entire outcome of the game. If the league places any value on integrity of their officials he has to go.

  4. fafafuey says: Nov 4, 2012 6:38 PM

    D Hall did not get held. You just lost and ou are bitter

  5. dionoil says: Nov 4, 2012 6:39 PM

    No he wasnt. I’m a panthers fan, I saw the game. Theyre covering themselves. They got it right, but it took two mistakes to get there

  6. CKL says: Nov 4, 2012 6:41 PM

    Sorry that explanation doesn’t fly. I rewound that on my DVR a couple of times and the whistle was definitely many yards before he got into the EZ. Even Pereira said the whistle was wrongly blown…but the refs should have stood by it and not awarded the td.

  7. thereisalwaysnextyear says: Nov 4, 2012 6:52 PM

    Holy cow! He wasn’t even close to the end zone when the whistle blew. There is a thing called “indisputable video evidence” to the contrary. Unbelievable.

  8. mattyk72 says: Nov 4, 2012 6:53 PM

    Refs flat out blew this call. No excuses. As Mike Pereira said they should have stood by their call right or wrong. The whistle clearly blew the play dead… no TD.

  9. thereisalwaysnextyear says: Nov 4, 2012 6:56 PM

    “Referee Carl Cheffers said in a pool report that Williams’ 30-yard touchdown run in the first quarter stood because the offensive team has a choice to take the result of the play or replay the down in such an occurrence.”

    This is not the rule. They can take the ball where the whistle blew or replay the play. Not only did they screw up they don’t even know the rule!

  10. skinsfan91 says: Nov 4, 2012 7:09 PM

    Completely changed the game. Riley easily would have tackled Williams or knocked him out of bounds. Gimme a break.

  11. camistheman says: Nov 4, 2012 7:40 PM

    Who cares Deangelo would have scored anyway. Whistle should of never been blow because he clearly didnt go out of bounds

  12. paredskinwarrior1985 says: Nov 4, 2012 8:59 PM

    Williams must have a concussion. what a retard!! it was the first home game after a long road trip and was the celebration of 80 years in dc!!!the panthers must not be the smartest bunch but I guess reason to get motivated and win for a one win team was good

  13. beavertonsteve says: Nov 4, 2012 9:03 PM

    Who cares Deangelo would have scored anyway. Whistle should of never been blow because he clearly didnt go out of bounds
    ———————————————-
    I’m guessing you didn’t actually watch the game.

    1) EVERYONE knows he never stepped out. Nobody is questioning that.

    2) The ref DID whistle the play dead way before Williams was free and clear. You can actually see the Redskins players stopping as the whistle sounds.

    Might he have scored anyway? Nobody knows, but by rule the touchdown should not have counted. End of story.

  14. jawnyblaze says: Nov 4, 2012 9:10 PM

    Yea, ref screwed the pooch on that one. I’m a Panthers fan, but I’d be pissed if I was on the other side of it. Of course, if they had called the TD back because that idiot blew the whistle, I’d be even more pissed. At least the way it went down was more than likely the way it would have if the whistle hadn’t been blown. Either way, the ref f’d up and one side was gonna be pissed.

  15. dlr4skins says: Nov 4, 2012 9:43 PM

    Official made an error and that is acceptable. What is not is the debacle following it and its results. This game was poorly officiated in many respects.

    There was way too much holding especially on internal lines.

    This crew needs to be evaluated very seriously if Goodell wants to make that integrity junk really matter.

    That call was blown in more ways then one! That official has NO integrity for making the decision he chose. Now hold him accountable.

    No wonder Hall has had to have conversations with officials

  16. inamcomm says: Nov 4, 2012 10:25 PM

    I dvr’d it too, went back and checked it out. With out a doubt the whistle was blown and the play should have been called dead. But the refs have too much pride to go back on their original call. No better than the replacement refs they replaced.

  17. skinswillsurprise says: Nov 4, 2012 10:43 PM

    fafafuey says:
    Nov 4, 2012 6:38 PM
    D Hall did not get held. You just lost and ou are bitter

    —–
    And the Skins record is still better!! Pathetic panther fans. Your team wins one game and you guys come out of hiding. So shut up please! HTTR!!

  18. defscottyb says: Nov 4, 2012 10:48 PM

    No he wasn’t… I just watched the replay and it was more like the 15. Play should of been blown dead even ex-ref said so on the fox broadcast. Oh well Skins lost I gotta move on.

  19. defscottyb says: Nov 4, 2012 10:51 PM

    fafafuey says: Nov 4, 2012 6:38 PM

    D Hall did not get held. You just lost and ou are bitter
    ______________________________________
    No, I agree he was clearly held there but good teams overcome bad calls.

  20. bullethead527 says: Nov 5, 2012 12:35 AM

    Panther fan here.

    The whistle was blown prematurely, the TD should not have counted.

    There were bad calls that went against both teams, but we didnt get the crappy end of the stick on the phantom whistle call.

    The delay of game penalty was horrible also, how does a ref stand between the QB and Center untl 4 seconds are on the clock without resetting the clock?

    I swear the replacement refs were out there today..

  21. skolvikesskol says: Nov 5, 2012 12:46 AM

    Bring back the replacement refs.

  22. jgedgar70 says: Nov 5, 2012 8:34 AM

    I don’t think it’s accurate to say that play changed the game. The whistle blew when Williams was between the 10 and 15 yard line. There was one DB who pulled up when he heard the whistle. I can’t tell for sure if he would have tackled Williams or not if he had not pulled up. Panthers probably should have had the ball first and goal at the 10. No one knows what would have happened from there. The game-changer was when we stopped Bob on 4th down & goal.

    I’m not going to talk too much junk, since we’re still only 2-6. I’m more relieved than jubilant at this point. Now if we beat The Idiot Coach next week, I’ll be jubilant. GO PANTHERS!

  23. d12f6m says: Nov 5, 2012 8:49 AM

    The Fact is that Deangelo never stepped out of bounds. If it was called back he would of been screwed. And how about the call on the late hit on RBG III by Thomas Davis. RBG was clearly still in bounds. Gave Washington the ball near the goal line. These refs stinks.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!