Skip to content

RG3 loses helmet, drawing questionable penalty

Griffin Getty Images

A potentially great game is unfolding in Maryland between the Redskins and the Ravens.

The home team leads at FedEx Field, 14-7.  The latest score capped a drive that was fueled, sort of, by a questionable penalty on Ravens defensive lineman Haloti Ngata.

After a throw that was ruled intentional grounding, Ngata hit Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III, who then hit the ground and lost his helmet.  The referee called roughing the passer, citing a helmet-to-helmet hit.  The penalties offset.

The only problem?  It wasn’t roughing the passer.  Replays show that Ngata shoved Griffin but never contacted the quarterback with the helmet or in the helmet.

Permalink 9 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Baltimore Ravens, Home, Rumor Mill, Washington Redskins
9 Responses to “RG3 loses helmet, drawing questionable penalty”
  1. logicalvoicesays says: Dec 9, 2012 1:40 PM

    Next play, he stood with confidence and delivered a 20 yd strike to Lenard Hankerson. A total warrior. RGIII is the best QB in the NFL. Period.

  2. wend28 says: Dec 9, 2012 1:44 PM

    A QB getting the benefit of the doubt… go figure!

  3. zerophocus says: Dec 9, 2012 1:45 PM

    The ref cited that he led with the crown of his helmet not that he contacted RG3s helmet. Which was absolutely bogus considering he was shoved by Ngata. Another case of the refs reacting to the appearance of the play and not the actual play.

  4. takingbacksundays5 says: Dec 9, 2012 1:45 PM

    That was an awful call. The ref saw the helmet come off and made an assumption, the wrong one.

  5. keithehlis says: Dec 9, 2012 1:47 PM

    Not a big deal though, it’s not like the penalty aided the Redskins’ drive and they ended up scoring……

  6. Mr. Wright 212 says: Dec 9, 2012 1:53 PM

    CLEAN HIT. What in the WORLD, man???

  7. corduroy88 says: Dec 9, 2012 2:40 PM

    The only thing the “real” refs are better at than the replacements is keeping the game moving – their judgments on calls are no better, if not worse.

  8. rtant2013 says: Dec 9, 2012 2:41 PM

    One the red didn’t call it a helmet to helmet hit, he called leading with the crown of the helmet. Get your facts straight. And leading with the crown of the helmet is a penalty. Shouldn’t you know what your talking about if your writing about football? My question is where are the holding calls on the Ravens, three separate occasions Oher has had his ARM wrapped around Kerrigans neck.

  9. FinFan68 says: Dec 9, 2012 2:55 PM

    These officials constantly make assumptions instead of calling what they actually see. I don’t remember the replaces doing that at all.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!