One of the most embarrassing plays of the 2012 season — for everyone involved — occurred on Thanksgiving Day, when Texans running back Justin Forsett clearly fell down, got up, and ran the rest of the way to the end zone for an 81-yard score.
The obvious mistake wasn’t reviewed via replay, under strict application of a rule that wipes out the review if the coach throws the red challenge flag at a time when the review is automatic.
Basically, Lions coach Jim Schwartz didn’t get that to which he was automatically entitled, simply because he asked for it.
Under a new proposal from the Competition Committee, the review would still occur.
Also, the automatic 15-yard penalty would be wiped out. A foul would be called only if the coach’s team has no remaining timeouts, or if the coach has no remaining challenges.
So, basically, a coach who throws the red challenge flag at a time when the review is otherwise automatic will be viewed as having thrown the red challenge flag under normal circumstances.
This change, if passed, would provide an extra benefit to coaches. If the replay assistant chooses incorrectly not to call for an on-field review, the coach could still initiate the process by throwing the red challenge flag. Last year, there were multiple situations in which, for whatever reason, the replay assistant failed to call for a full review. (For example, Trindon Holliday.) Under current rules, the coach can do nothing to force the issue when the replay review is supposedly “automatic.”
For all of those reasons, we won’t be throwing the red challenge flag on this proposed rule change.