Skip to content

Charles Johnson says Marcus Cannon apologized for leg whip

Getty Images

The Carolina Panthers appeared to have lost defensive end Charles Johnson to a significant injury early in the third quarter of Monday night’s victory over the New England Patriots.

Johnson had beat New England tackle Marcus Cannon off the snap and was trying to stop a running play from LeGarrette Blount. Cannon whiffed on his block and hit the turf. As he did, he swung his left leg back over his body and connected squarely with the right knee of Johnson as his leg was planted on the ground.

The play by Cannon is illegal and will probably draw a fine this week. However, there wasn’t a flag thrown on the play. Johnson was helped from the field and eventually carted to the locker room for further evaluation. He was actually able to return to the field and was back in the game on defense for the final drive of the game for Carolina.

According to Albert Breer of the NFL Network, Johnson said after the game that Cannon sought him out on the field at the conclusion of the game to apologize for the play. Breer also reported the injury was a mild MCL sprain.

It was a dirty play that could have left Johnson much worse off than the injury turned out to be. It’s a nice gesture by Cannon to apologize for the play.

Permalink 15 Comments Feed for comments Latest Stories in: Carolina Panthers, Home, New England Patriots, Rumor Mill
15 Responses to “Charles Johnson says Marcus Cannon apologized for leg whip”
  1. balfe13 says: Nov 19, 2013 2:36 AM

    A nice gesture? Really? If that had been Ndamukong Suh, Florio would be outside his window with torches RIGHT NOW screaming some nonsense about the Redskins and dirty players.

  2. osrude says: Nov 19, 2013 4:21 AM

    Heat of the moment. Not every dirty play is intentional.
    Got beat? Kick em!

  3. jgedgar70 says: Nov 19, 2013 7:28 AM

    OK, all you who are screaming that the non-call on the last play somehow took points off the board and means the Patriots won but the non-call means the refs took the win away from the Patriots and gave it to the Panthers – what is your explanation for this?????????

  4. samapoc says: Nov 19, 2013 7:40 AM

    This is the correct thing to do.

  5. whoisrdymlz says: Nov 19, 2013 8:06 AM

    This was the real non call.

  6. TheWizard says: Nov 19, 2013 8:22 AM

    All us old-timers had to be thinking Conrad Dobler on that one.

  7. pjrhc says: Nov 19, 2013 8:47 AM

    Not sure if it was intentional, but either way, good to see you man up, Cannon.

  8. johnelwayishorsefaced says: Nov 19, 2013 9:00 AM

    Just imagine what people would be saying if Suh did something like this. I’m sure this guy will get a pass though since he’s not the predetermined league villain.

  9. melikefootball says: Nov 19, 2013 9:05 AM

    We orry about no flag at end this play of leg whip in plain view should have been called as tripping. NE not talking on that one.

  10. mlblogsacubbieperspective says: Nov 19, 2013 10:05 AM

    But in all if the “what if” penalty talk if the game, nobody brings up this blown no call. If you wanna play what if, what if this flag was thrown and stalled that scoring drive for NE? It won’t get the attention that the last play got but was clearly a blown call, no question. Just glad Johnson isn’t really hurt badly, that would’ve sucked to see a guy go out due to a dirty play

  11. CKL says: Nov 19, 2013 10:20 AM

    As a Pats fan I am glad Cannon apologized to Johnson. That was not cool to legwhip him.

  12. johnelwayishorsefaced says: Nov 19, 2013 10:20 AM

    Just imagine what people would be saying if Suh did something like this. I’m sure this guy will get a pass though since he’s not the predetermined league villain.

  13. bsizemore68 says: Nov 19, 2013 11:08 AM

    The pats will cry any way, they always do. Bill

  14. jolink653 says: Nov 19, 2013 11:12 AM

    The difference between this and the last call is that the leg whip was missed by the refs, but the flag was thrown on the last play and then picked up for absolutely no reason…both were fouls, but one was missed and the other one was called and then ignored, and the pass interference happened two yards in front if the back judge

  15. thegronk87 says: Nov 19, 2013 1:47 PM

    Cannon was wrong in what he did

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!