For seven years and counting, NFC title game has been a one-score game


When it comes to competitive championship games, the NFC continues to set a high bar.  For seven straight years, the George Halas Trophy (which used to be an actual trophy but is now an ugly, stylized football that’s indistinguishable from the Lamar Hunt Non-Trophy Trophy) has been decided by seven points or fewer.

This year, the Seahawks prevailed by six, 23-17.  Last year, San Francisco outscored Atlanta by four, 28-24.

In January 2012, the Giants beat the 49ers in overtime, 20-17.  In January 2011, the Packers beat the Bears, 21-14.

One year earlier, it was the epic overtime game at the Superdome, with the Saints beating the Vikings, 31-28.  The Cardinals previously beat the Eagles by seven, 32-25.

The streak began with another Giants’ overtime win, 23-20 over the Packers at Lambeau Field.

In six of the seven years before that, the NFC title games entailed blowouts.  The Bears beat the Saints by 25 after the 2006 season, the Seahawks beat the Panthers by 20 a year earlier, the Eagles trounced the Falcons by 17, the Panthers held Philly to a field goal in a 14-3 win, and the Bucs beat the Eagles by 17.  A year before a five-point win by the Rams over the Eagles, the Giants dismantled Minnesota, 41-0.

The NFC has a 4-2 edge over the last six Super Bowls.  The AFC had won six of the seven prior to that.