NFL announces Walter Payton Man of the Year finalists

Getty Images

The Super Bowl field will be narrowed to two on Sunday. At halftime of the AFC title game, the NFC announced that the field for the Walter Payton Man of the Year award has been cut to three.

The finalists are 49ers receiver Anquan Boldin, Saints tight end Benjamin Watson, and Giants quarterback Eli Manning.

The prize, named for the Hall of Fame running back who died in 1999, acknowledges off-field contributions to the community. Each team had one nominee.

The winner will be announced the night before the Super Bowl.