With so much of the coverage regarding the league’s revised social-media policy focusing on the penalties and the thou-shalt-nots, many are now conditioned to believe that any and all in-game posting of highlights constitutes a violation of the rules.
On Sunday, several readers pointed out that the Patriots posted on the team’s official Twitter page the highlight of the third touchdown connection from Tom Brady to Martellus Bennett. Based on the memos distributed last week, however, it appears that no violation occurred.
Teams may re-post highlights posted by the NFL’s official Twitter page, even within the window from kickoff through 60 minutes after the conclusion of the game during which the general ban applies.
If the NFL hadn’t posted the highlight at the league’s official Twitter page, the Patriots couldn’t have posted the highlight on the team’s Twitter page. Once the league posted it, the Patriots had a green light.