Tuskers announce 21 players, including Wiggins

The UFL’s Florida Tuskers have announced 21 members of the team’s first-year roster, including a number of players with NFL experience.

The headliner is tight end Jermaine Wiggins, who won a Super Bowl ring with the Pats in 2001 and who returned to the Super Bowl two years later with the Panthers.  He last played in the NFL three years ago, however.

The Tuskers also have announced the addition of defensive tackle Claude Wroten, a 2006 third-round draft pick who spent two years with the Rams.  He arguably would have been a first-round pick but for a history with marijuana, which eventually wiped out his NFL career via a one-year suspension imposed in 2008.

Tuskers coach Jim Haslett has experience with Wroten, since Haslett served as the Rams’ defensive coordinator during Wroten’s tenure in St. Louis.

Joining them is Zach Piller, a former NFL offensive lineman who spent nine years with the Titans, and who (like Wiggins) last played in 2006.

The list of 21 players announced today does not include receiver Koren Robinson, linebacker Odell Thurman, or running back Michael Pittman.  Each of these three former NFL players has been linked to the Tuskers.