Fletcher, Furrey, Waters named Man of the Year finalists

Washington Redskins linebacker London Fletcher, Cleveland Browns receiver/defensive back Mike Furrey and Kansas City Chiefs guard Brian Waters have been named the finalists for the NFL’s Walter Payton Man of the Year award.

The Man of the Year award goes to a player who combines excellence on the field with community service off the field. The league began the award in 1970 and named it for Walter Payton (who won the award in 1977) shortly after his death in 1999. Last year’s winner was Kurt Warner.

This year’s winner will be announced on Super Bowl Sunday, and all three finalists will be honored during Super Bowl week.