Rich McKay takes over as sole Competition Committee chairman

For the first time in ten years, Jeff Fisher will not be co-chair of the NFL’s Competition Committee.

The league announced that Fisher will serve in a non-voting, advisory role during the current offseason.  Falcons President Rich McKay, who served as a co-chair since 1998, will now take over as the sole committee chair.

McKay has proven to have remarkable staying power and versatility in the NFL.  He survived the Vick and Petrino eras in Atlanta, moving from the personnel side to the business side as team President.

The 7-man committee now seemingly has room for another member.  The current members are McKay, Cowboys VP Stephen Jones, Bengals coach Marvin Lewis, Giants owner John Mara, Ravens G.M. Ozzie Newsome, Colts President Bill Polian, and Texans G.M. Rick Smith.