49ers reach 53-man limit

Getty Images

The San Francisco 49ers have made the necessary roster moves to get down to the 53-man roster limit.

San Francisco cut 26 players: QB Josh McCown, QB McLeod Bethel-Thompson, FB Jack Corcoran, RB Xavier Omon, WR Ronald Johnson, WR Dominique Zeigler, WR Chris Hogan, WR Joe Hastings, WR Lance Long, TE Nate Lawrie, TE Konrad Reuland, OL Tony Wragge, OL Chase Beeler, OL Kenny Wiggins, OL Derek Hall, DL Sealver Siliga, DL Brian Bulcke, LB Monte Simmons, LB Kenny Rowe, LB Alex Joseph, CB Phillip Adams, CB Phillip Davis, CB Cory Nelms, S Curtis Taylor, S Chris Maragos and S Anthony West.

The 49ers also put tight end Nate Byham on injured reserve.

The surprise decision to cut McCown leaves Alex Smith and Colin Kaepernick as the only two quarterbacks on the roster. The 49ers kept 23 offensive players and 27 defensive players as well as a kicker, a punter and a long snapper.