Rodgers, Urlacher, Ginn take home Week One NFC awards


The NFL has handed out the hardware for both conferences following an exciting Week One of the 2011 season.

In the NFC, Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers (to little surprise) is the offensive player of the week. Rodgers completed 27 of 35 passes for 312 yards and three touchdowns in the season-christening win over the Saints. He racked up an uncanny 132.1 passer rating.

It’s the third time Rodgers has won the award — and the third time since Week 13 of the 2010 season.

Also nominated for the award were Bears running back Matt Forte, Cardinals quarterback Kevin Kolb, Redskins quarterback Rex Grossman, Panthers quarterback Cam Newton, Panthers receiver Steve Smith, Eagles running back LeSean McCoy, and Lions quarterback Matthew Stafford.

On defense, Bears linebacker Brian Urlacher (to little surprise) got the nod, thanks to an interception and a 12-yard touchdown after recovering a fumble in a 30-12 filleting of the Falcons. It was Urlacher’s sixth POW award, tying him with Hall of Famer Richard Dent for the most in franchise history.

Other nominees were Eagles defensive end Jason Babin, 49ers linebacker Parys Haralson, Redskins linebacker Ryan Kerrigan, Cowboys linebacker Sean Lee, Eagles defensive end Juqua Parker, Giants defensive end Jason Pierre-Paul, Redskins defensive tackle Chris Neild, Bucs cornerback Aqib Talib, Packers linebacker Erik Walden, and Vikings cornerback Antoine Winfield.

Ted Ginn (to absolutely no surprise) is the special-teams player of the week, thanks to a 102-yard kickoff return for a touchdown and a 55-punt return for a touchdown that turned a 19-17 fourth-quarter margin into a 33-17 rout.

Also nominated were Packers receiver Randall Cobb, Vikings receiver Percy Harvin, and Cardinals cornerback Patrick Peterson.