Nominees for 2013 Hall of Fame class announced

List of Nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013

First-year eligible nominees
Quarterback – Steve McNair
Running Back – Priest Holmes
Wide Receiver – Keenan McCardell
Offensive Linemen – Larry Allen (G), Tom Nalen (C), Jonathan Ogden (T)
Defensive Linemen – Sam Adams (DT), Warren Sapp (DT), Michael Strahan (DE), Ted Washington (DT/NT), Bryant Young (DE)
Defensive Back – John Lynch (S)
Kicker – Morten Andersen

Previous nominees
Quarterbacks – Drew Bledsoe, Randall Cunningham, Ron Jaworski, Neil Lomax, Phil Simms, Danny White (also P)
Running backs – Jamal Anderson, Ottis Anderson, Tiki Barber, *Jerome Bettis, Larry Centers, Roger Craig, Stephen Davis, Terrell Davis, Eddie George, Brian Mitchell (also PR/KR), Gerald Riggs, Herschel Walker, Ricky Watters
Wide receivers –*Tim Brown (also KR), *Cris Carter, Gary Clark, Mark Clayton, Henry Ellard (also PR), Keyshawn Johnson, Stanley Morgan, *Andre Reed, Sterling Sharpe, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith
Tight ends – Todd Christensen, Ben Coates
Offensive linemen – Tony Boselli (T), Lomas Brown (T), Jim Covert (T), Joe Fields (C), Bill Fralic (G/T), Jeff Hartings (G/C), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), Jim Lachey (T), *Will Shields (G), Erik Williams (T), Steve Wisniewski (G)
Defensive linemen – Carl Hairston (DE/DT), *Charles Haley (DE/LB), Ed “Too Tall” Jones (DE), Joe Klecko (DE/DT/NT), Dexter Manley (DE), Charles Mann (DE), Fred Smerlas (NT)
Linebackers – Cornelius Bennett, *Kevin Greene (also DE), Ken Harvey, Clay Matthews, Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Darryl Talley
Defensive backs – Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Nolan Cromwell (S), Albert Lewis (CB), Dennis Smith (S), Troy Vincent (CB), Everson Walls (CB), *Aeneas Williams (CB/S), Darren Woodson (S)
Punters/kickers – Gary Anderson (K), Sean Landeta (P), Nick Lowery (K)
Special teamers – Steve Tasker (also WR)
Coaches – Bill Arnsparger, Doug Blevins, Bud Carson, Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, *Bill Parcells, Buddy Parker, Dan Reeves, Marty Schottenheimer, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil
Contributors – K. S. (Bud) Adams, Jr., George Anderson, Bobby Beathard, Gil Brandt, C. O. Brocato, Leo Carlin, Jack Kent Cooke, Otho Davis, *Ed DeBartolo, Jr., Ron Gibbs, Ralph Kohl, Eddie Kotal, Robert Kraft, Art McNally, Art Modell, Bill Polian, Art Rooney, Jr., Steve Sabol, Carl Storck, Paul Tagliabue, Burl Toler, Sr., Jim Tunney, Ron Wolf, George Young

*On 2012 finalists list

24 responses to “Nominees for 2013 Hall of Fame class announced

  1. Why is Priest Holmes listed? He can’t be41 the only running back that retired 5 years ago, so I’m assuming his inclusion on this list assumes someone thinks he has a chance at the Hall?

    He had 3 really good seasons, and one OK season. Other than that he was essentially Danny Woodhead (numbers wise).

  2. Chris Carter does amaze me. Steve Sabol will get in but not this year. Look how long it took Ed Sabol to get in. Clay Matthews is another one that amazes me as to why he isn’t in…

  3. For first year I think you put John Lynch in, but none of the others.

    I’d add Cris Carter, Tim Brown, Jerome Bettis, safeties Joey Browner and Steve Atwater and maybe even K Gary Anderson in.

    Sabol gets in because of his recent death and accomplishments with NFL Films I think both because he deserves it, and. because of his recent passing.

    I doubt all three safeties get in in one yera, but they all deserve it. Each was stellar.

  4. incredible first year class of linemen, both OL and DL, that will be tough to narrow down.

    steve sabol would be a nice touch in this year’s class. actually, it would have been nicer last year.

    most importantly, the voters need to remember one simple thing… NEVER, modell, NEVER!

  5. If I was voting for the 5 Finalist for the next Hall Of Fame nominee’s, I would go as follows:
    (1) Larry Allen (OG)
    (2) Will Shields (OG)
    (3) Charles Haley (DE ) Only player to win 5 SuperBowls in NFL history)
    (4) Cris Carter(WR) Not sure what’s going on with this selection, this dude was a playmaker, period.
    (5) Clay Matthews (LB)

    I would put Steve Sabol name as a close #5 but with his recent death, don’t think it would be right to put him in this early because of that. Steve and his dad are pioneers of the game period. Really enjoy the old NFL films…… A sure fit next Hall of Fame selection along with Bill Parcells….

  6. Strahan, Ogden, Lynch, Andersen (if another kicker EVER gets in, it should be him) and Larry Allen.

    Cris Carter continues to prove why being a bottle of Summer’s Eve to everyone will do you in when it comes to things like this.

  7. Jimmy Johnson as a coach – Dislike the ‘Boys but dude won 3 SBs; Tom Flores (won 2 SB and 1st minority HC) Tim Brown, Chris Carter, Strahan, Roger Craig, Larry Allen, Steve Atwater

    New nominees: Cliff Branch (won 3 SB),

  8. Joe Jacoby–at 6’7″ and 310 lbs., certainly one of the most frightening sights to see when the Hogs ran the Counter Trey. He won 3 Super Bowl rings and was a Pro-Bowler 4 years in a row. And he was an undrafted rookie. Amazing!

  9. 1st yr Lynch, Allen
    …then Bettis, Carter and T Brown…really, get these guys in and then focus on other players, they all deserve it.

    Bettis has a ring and the numbers Curtis Martin had, Carter dominated his position for years and had the best hands and Brown was one of the greatest true football players ever.

    Both kickers named Andersen should be in the HOF.
    Roger Craig, Strahan and Sapp will be soon.

  10. Tom Flores??? Really??? As to the “first minority HC” comment, So What! The dude was only 11 games over .500 for his career. Johnson and Sieffert both won two Super Bowls and had better overall records.

  11. Clay Matthews and whomever else. NO MODELL. He did not earn it in life, he ought not receive an honor b/c he did this year what all human beings do. As for all the Ratbird “fans” who will thumbs this down, Go Colts.

  12. Clay Matthews and whomever else. NO MODELL. He did not earn it in life, he ought not receive an honor b/c he did this year what all human beings do. As for all the Ratbird “fans” who will thumbs this down, Go Colts.
    Upset with Modell because he moved a team but support a team stolen from Bmore? Logical you are not.

  13. McNair,Holmes,Ogden,Adams,and Modell-all ties to Baltimore.
    Ogden is the only one who gets in this time,but keeping Modell out is idiotic. The HOF is in Canton,SO WHAT. Brady kicks the Browns tail almost everytime,is he going to be kept out? Modell has done more to get Browns fans football in their homes than Brady ever has or will. If the HOF was in San Diego would Belicheck be barred? He kept them from going to the SB plenty of times. Where the HOF is located is irrelevant. More proof that idiot writers are NOT the parties that should be doing the voting.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!