Bernard Pollard not fined for hit on Reggie Wayne

AP

Ravens safety Bernard Pollard picked up a penalty in the Ravens’ 24-9 victory over the Colts for a helmet-to-helmet hit on Reggie Wayne, but he won’t be losing any money.

The NFL confirmed Friday that Pollard has not been fined for the hit, which came when Wayne was judged to be a defenseless receiver by the officials. Pollard wasn’t thrilled about the call, leading him to suggest making helmet-to-helmet hits subject to replay review. As MDS pointed out earlier this week, the review of that hit wouldn’t have helped Pollard’s cause all that much.

Ravens coach John Harbaugh was also asked about the call this week and he suggested that there were ways for Pollard to avoid similar flags in the future. Harbaugh said, via the Baltimore Sun, that Pollard needs to “keep his strike zone down” so that he avoids making contact with a helmet “all of a sudden.”

Pollard also received a taunting penalty a couple of plays after his flag for hitting Wayne, but that didn’t draw him a fine either.