Fitzgerald, Thomas, Witten named finalists for Walter Payton Man of the Year award

Getty Images

Among the various awards to be distributed the night before the Super Bowl will be the one that combines on-field performance with off-field service.

This year, the finalists for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award are Cardinals receiver Larry Fitzgerald, Browns left tackle Joe Thomas, and Cowboys tight end Jason Witten.

The award, renamed for Hall of Famer Walter Payton in 1999, was first given in 1970, to John Unitas.  Payton won the award in 1977.  Last year’s winner was Ravens center Matt Birk.

12 responses to “Fitzgerald, Thomas, Witten named finalists for Walter Payton Man of the Year award

  1. Fitz is a super individual. Dude had an awful season with us and never complains, never turn diva. He just lines up and goes right to work on every snap. Personally id imagine hes just as good. Go #11

  2. Congrats Russell Wilson is. Shoe in this award for years to come.. He visits the local hospital at least 2times a week. Once he gets a real NFL salary he can add to his foundation. Great players give back. Kudos to the winners happy my team has a good guy like this to lead them too.

  3. Everyone of these players are very deserving but being the Cowboys fan I am I would have to give my vote for Jason Witten. One hell of a TE probably top 5 ever at his position but always stays humble and tough as nails if I’m not mistaken he’s played in every game besides 1 his rookie year.

  4. I’m sure these guys are all very deserving. Personally my vote is for Thomas because he’s a linemen. I always hope this award goes to the least popular player.

  5. It’s not fair to have these guys in it. Their seasons were over 12 weeks ago so of course they got more facetime with the community they live in.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.