Texans part ways with plenty of guys


Plenty of Texans are now former Texans.  Unless the guys fired by the Texans are from, you know, Texas.

The Texans announced that the following players have been released:  defensive end Keith Browner, tight end Jake Byrne, cornerback Roc Carmichael, fullback Tyler Clutts, linebacker Cameron Collins, receiver Andy Cruse, offensive lineman Tyler Horn, defensive end Delano Johnson, running back Dennis Johnson, safety Orhian Johnson, nose tackle Chris Jones, running back Deji Karim, offensive lineman Alex Kupper, cornerback Elbert Mack, tackle Nate Menkin, linebacker Mike Mohamed, receiver EZ Nwachukwu, and safety Jawanza Starling.

Carmichael was a fourth-round pick in 2011.  He appeared in six regular-season games last season.

The Texans also placed three on injured reserve:  receiver Alan Bonner (hamstring), tackle Brennan Williams (knee), and linebacker Trevardo Williams (knee).  Three others have been released with an injury settlement:  defensive lineman Daniel Muir, nose tackle David Hunter, and receiver Mike Smith.

As expected, safety Ed Reed has been moved to the active roster from the PUP list.