Woodyard not fined for hit on Pryor


Raiders quarterback Terrelle Pryor thought Broncos linebacker Wesley Woodyard should be fined for the hit that gave him a concussion.

The NFL said Friday it did not agree, and Woodyard was not fined.

Once Pryor took off running, he was not offered the same protection by the rules as if he was a stationary target.

Even Raiders coach Dennis Allen didn’t have a problem with it, which should have been the first sign Woodyard was going to be OK.

24 responses to “Woodyard not fined for hit on Pryor

  1. Wait…what?!?! The “QB no longer stationary and now running” rule has to deal with being able to hit the QB when he’s running a read-option or pistol type offensive play. What in the world does that have to do with leading with the helmet? Goldson and others have been fined numerous times for hitting non-QBs in the exact manner Woodyard…what is the NFL talking about?!?! He led with the helmet. FINE.

  2. Umm…go to you YouTube. He never even lowered his head once before getting hit helmet to helmet. He was running with his head evenly up. He never initiated contact for that matter…

  3. Unnecessary Roughness

    Article 8, Section (g):

    If a player uses any part of his helmet (including the top/crown and forehead/”hairline” parts) or facemask to butt, SPEAR, or ram an opponent violently or unnecessarily.

  4. i can’t believe some of these raiders fans…when have the refs or league ever have the raiders back..

    .i mean why hasn’t allen said anything about the offensive pass interference penalty on Rivera in the first quarter, or the false start on Wiz for lowering his head to hike the ball…because he knows how to pick his battles, and he will never win the one with refs….just move on…redskins is what it is all about now…everything else is water under the bridge

  5. Good clean hits don’t result in concussions. good ell is telling this dude leading with your head down is ok. So much for heads up football. See your target not your targets cleats.

  6. For the uninformed: Not all helmet-to-helmet hits are illegal. Only those on defenseless players are illegal. The NFL defines 9 categories of “defenseless” players. The only category applicable here is “A runner already in the grasp of a tackler and whose forward progress has been stopped.” Watch the video — while Pryor may have been in the grasp, his forward progress clearly had not been stopped as he was still moving forward and no whistle had been blown. Thus, it was a legal hit. If you disagree, please tell me how in the world under the below rules you could actually come to this conclusion instead of just making rules up that sound good only in your head.

    Here is the full rule:

    Article 7: Players in a Defenseless Posture. It is a foul if a player initiates unnecessary contact against a player who is in a defenseless posture.

    (a) Players in a defenseless posture are:

    (1) A player in the act of or just after throwing a pass;
    (2) A receiver attempting to catch a pass; or who has completed a catch and has not had time to protect himself or has not clearly become a runner. If the receiver/runner is capable of avoiding or warding off the impending contact of an opponent, he is no longer a defenseless player;
    (3) A runner already in the grasp of a tackler and whose forward progress has been stopped;
    (4) A kickoff or punt returner attempting to field a kick in the air;
    (5) A player on the ground;
    (6) A kicker/punter during the kick or during the return;
    (7) A quarterback at any time after a change of possession;
    (8) A player who receives a “blindside” block when the blocker is moving toward or parallel to his own end line and approaches the opponent from behind or from the side; and
    (9) A player who is protect from an illegal crackback block (see Article 2).

    (b) Prohibited contact against a player who is in a defenseless posture is: . . . (3) Illegally launching into a defeneseless opponent. It is an illegal launch if a player (1) leaves both feet prior to contact to spring forward and upward into his opponent, and (2) uses any part of his helmet (including the top/crown and forehead/”hairline” parts) to initiate forcible contact against any part of the opponent’s body. Note: This does not apply to contact against a runner, unless the runner is still considered to be a defenseless player as defined in Article 7 above.

  7. Its not about whether Pryor lowered his head or if Woodyard lead with his head. Its about where Woodyard hit him and what part initiated the contact. Woodyard put his head in front of Pryor but made contact with Pryor’s helmet with his shoulderpad, which is what is allowable in the situation in which a QB is a runner, as Pryor clearly wasn’t going to throw the ball. Besides that hit really wasn’t that vicious. And it teaches Pryor to read a defense to avoid running a QB draw right into a blitz. Good job protecting the house Woodro

  8. r8dernation says:
    Sep 27, 2013 4:55 PM
    Good clean hits don’t result in concussions. good ell is telling this dude leading with your head down is ok. So much for heads up football. See your target not your targets cleats.


    Learn football and watch the play again. Obviously you are being a little biased being a Raiders fan. Pryor was a running back on the play. He was in the pocket, and attempting to run a designed QB draw. This is a legal play. Just like a horse-collar tackle is legal on a QB in the pocket. But good try.

  9. I’m a Life long Raider and I can’t wait until the finial game of the season! The Broncos will need the win for home field and the Raiders will end his punk ass season, career & The Broncos stamped towards the championship! We will see what you Mule fans will be saying then!

  10. Some of u Raider fans are so bitter. It’s always next time. Next time we are going to knock Peyton out. Dude your beloved Raiders should have done it on Monday. You didn’t. You couldn’t. Your team is weak. The Redskins get their first win. And to the guy that said us Broncos fans are gone when Manning retires. WE NEVER GET BLACKED OUT. WE ALWAYS SELL OUT. YOUR TEAM SUCKS.

  11. Some of you raider fans crying about a helmet to helmet hit need to go look in the mirror..Do you notice how close your shoulder is to the side of your head??? From watching the game, looking at the pic, and watching it again on all 22 film; Woodyard hit him with the top of his shoulder on the outside of Pryors left shoulder.. So yes his helmet did hit his facemask, but only because of it being in close proximity.. Not like he blasted him in the earhole…

  12. Look Raider Nation, I had my concerns about the hit too. I was mostly offended because I believe if it were Brady or Manning it would have been called. However, I thought at worst it should be a flag, not a fine. It didn’t look like he was intentionally being malicious or anything. Besides that, credit to you stealthjunk for laying out the rules plain as day and making a legitimate case for why it should have been neither a flag or fine. Sometimes we as fans forget that we watch it 100 times after the fact and the refs have to call I to the spot. Job is not that easy. True story. Anyway, I’m glad he is okay and I’m hoping to see a good showdown between two guys with similar skill sets and an equally lackluster supporting cast. I’m aware that RGIII is the more polished guy, but I still find it compelling to see how our 3rd round supplemental measures up with a consensus #2 overall. Time to move on. We need a win. Go Raiders. Peace out.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!