Redskins confirm eight assistants leaving with Mike Shanahan

Getty Images

The Redskins have confirmed the eight members of Mike Shanahan’s coaching staff that will not be retained by the team after they decided to terminate head coach Mike Shanahan on Monday.

As mentioned while discussing General Manager Bruce Allen’s press conference, the two biggest names on the list are offensive coordinator Kyle Shanahan and special teams coach Keith Burns. Neither move is a surprise. Shanahan’s reported desire to part ways with his father doesn’t change the fact that he was in Washington for blood ties as much as anything else and Burns’ units were terrible all season.

Quarterback coach Matt LaFleur, advance scout Larry Coyer, linebackers coach Bob Slowik, defensive assistant Bobby Slowik, wide receivers coach Mike McDaniel and offensive quality control assistant Richmond Flowers are the other coaches who won’t remain with the team. Most of those coaches have long histories working under the elder Shanahan.

Defensive coordinator Jim Haslett, defensive backs coach Raheem Morris, defensive line coach Jacob Burney, offensive line coach Chris Foerster, assistant offensive line coach Chris Morgan and tight ends coach Sean McVay remain with the team. Burney is the only member of that group who worked with Mike Shanahan before joining the Redskins staff.