Lions sign 11 undrafted free agents, release eight players


The Lions signed 11 undrafted free agents on Monday, the club said on its website.

Missouri quarterback James Franklin is among the Lions’ rookie signees. Franklin threw for 2,429 yards in 2013, completing 62.1 percent of his attempts while throwing 19 touchdowns and six interceptions.

In addition to Franklin, the Lions signed these rookie free agents: Florida State fullback Chad Abram, Tennessee offensive guard Alex Bullard, William and Mary safety Jerome Couplin, Wake Forest linebacker Justin Jackson, Kansas State offensive tackle Cornelius Lucas, Oklahoma safety Gabe Lynn, Louisiana-Lafayette tight end Jacob Maxwell, Old Dominion offensive guard D.J. Morrell, Appalachian State wide receiver Andrew Peacock and Nebraska cornerback Mohammed Selsay.

The Lions also announced they had released eight players, including wide receiver Carlin Isles, a professional rugby player. Also released were center Sherman Carter, linebacker Jon Morgan, cornerback Nate Ness, safety Akwasi Owusu-Ansah, kicker John Potter, tight end Matt Veldman and wide receiver Cody Wilson.