Bills drop 11, including Dennis Dixon

Getty Images

The Buffalo Bills have parted ways with 11 players, in an effort to get toward the 75-man roster limit that becomes effective on Tuesday.

Gone are quarterback Dennis Dixon, safety Derek Brim, punter Jake Dombrowski, receiver Tori Gurley, safety Jajuan Harley, kicker Dustin Hopkins, defensive tackle Damien Jacobs, center Mackey MacPherson, receiver Chris Summer, guard J.J. ‘Unga, and running back Ronnie Wingo.

Hopkins was a sixth-round pick of the Bills in 2013. But he’s a kicker; in a quarterback-driven league, the decision to drop Dixon could mean that the one-time Heisman candidate finally has been driven out of the league.

A fifth-round pick of the Steelers in 2008, Dixon last appeared in a regular-season game during the 2010 season.