Teams can change mind on extra point after penalty

The new rule regarding the single-point PAT is simple, but it has a few interesting complexities — especially when a penalty happens.

In the event of a penalty, the team that has scored a touchdown can change its mind about whether to go for one or two.

For example, if the team that has scored a touchdown opts to go for two but is called for holding, the team can then go for two from the 12, or go for one. The only catch is that the 10-yard penalty also would apply to the try for one point, pushing the line of scrimmage to the 25 and making the kick 42 yards. Still, a 42-yard kick for one would make more sense than a 12-yard gain for two.

The same concept applies in the event of a defensive penalty. If the team that has scored goes for one and the defense jumps offside, the team can then go for two, with the penalty enforced from the two.

It adds another potential layer of strategy for coaches, requiring them to revisit the decision they’ve already made based on whether the snap will now be closer or farther back.

9 responses to “Teams can change mind on extra point after penalty

  1. Teams could take chances attempting to get a neutral zone violation and a free play on the 2 point conversion, and if it didn’t work, take a delay of game and kick the extra point.

  2. Plus the Patriots will probably end up taking a penalty just so they can try a fake extra point from up close.

  3. I know people will complain about it, but it’s one decision I think the NFL actually got something right in the Goodell era. Nothing more than a little more harmless intrigue! Now the outsourcing games to Brazil, Germany, and Mexico is a an entirely different story!!!!

  4. What happens in the case of pass interference?
    If they go for two and there is defensive pass interference the ball would usually be placed at the 1. Does this mean a field goal could be attempted at the 1?

  5. Pass Interference: ball placed at the 1, go for your 2 points from there. Or kick from there.

    All scoring plays are reviewed. This is a scoring play.

  6. So how does excessive celebration play into this? They should re-apply it to the PAT now, to make it a 47-yd field goal.

    See what happens when people are now taking points off the board to pretend they have a cell phone in their hand, or hide a sharpie in their sock.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.