After the Seahawks won Monday night and the NFL admitted the deciding play should have been a penalty that allowed the Lions to retain possession, the man who batted the ball out of the back of the end zone told reporters he didn’t know he should have been flagged for doing so.
“I didn’t know that rule at all,” K.J. Wright said.
Kam Chancellor forced the ball out of the hands of Calvin Johnson and sent the ball bouncing towards the back of the end zone. Wright tracked it and intentionally knocked it over the back line. Wright should have been flagged for illegal batting, NFL V.P. of officiating Dean Blandino admitted after the game.
“As soon as Calvin went down, I saw the ball bouncing, bouncing, bouncing and I was running so I just tried to knock it out,” Wright said.
Seahawks Coach Pete Carroll admitted his team was “fortunate,” which is one way to put it.
“I wanted to just knock it out out of bounds and not try to catch it and fumble it,” Wright said. “I just tried to make a good play for my team.”