J.J. Watt wins the Deacon Jones Award

Getty Images

Texans defensive lineman J.J. Watt is adding another trophy to his mantel.

Watt is the recipient of the third annual Deacon Jones Award, which the NFL gives each year to the league leader in sacks. Jones, the Hall of Fame defensive end credited with coining the term “sack” to mean bringing down the opposing quarterback, died in 2013 and the NFL named the award after him shortly thereafter.

With 17.5 sacks this year, Watt is the league leader for the second time in his career. He also led the league with 20.5 sacks in 2012. Watt and Reggie White are the only players in NFL history to have more than 17 sacks in three different seasons.

“An individual award is never individually earned,” Watt said in a statement released by the league. “This honor is a testament to my teammates and coaches for helping me to be successful each week. I am humbled and honored to receive the Deacon Jones Award and I will always continue to strive toward new heights of greatness.”

The award will be formally handed out at NFL Honors on the night before the Super Bowl. Watt may also receive his third Defensive Player of the Year award that night.