James Brown wins prestigious Rozelle Radio-TV Award

Getty Images

Longtime broadcaster James Brown has been named the 2016 winner of the Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award.

Brown currently hosts The NFL Today on CBS and CBS Thursday Night Football games. He has hosted eight Super Bowls and is a three-time Emmy Award winner.

“JB is the gold standard of NFL studio hosts and the Pete Rozelle Award is a testament to his outstanding contributions to the NFL throughout his 33-year career,” CBS Sports chairman Sean McManus said in a statement released by the Pro Football Hall of Fame. “He is one of the NFL’s most distinguished voices and often sets the tone for discussions both on and off the field. There is no one more deserving of this recognition than James Brown.”

Brown will be honored during the Pro Football Hall of Fame festivities next month in Canton, Ohio.

The prestigious Rozelle Radio-TV Award was first awarded in 1989. Recent winners include Tom Jackson, Al Michaels, Len Dawson, Jim Nantz and Chris Berman.