Matthew Stafford fumbled, and appeared to be the only one who realized it

Los Angeles Rams v Arizona Cardinals
Getty Images

In the third quarter of Monday Night Football, Rams quarterback Matthew Stafford fumbled, and the Cardinals missed a huge opportunity to recover it — because Stafford was the only one in the vicinity who recognized that he fumbled.

With the Rams at the Cardinals’ 6-yard line, Stafford was hit by Cardinals pass rusher Chandler Jones as he attempted to pass. The ball went forward and hit the ground, but the officials ruled that Stafford had fumbled and the ball was still live.

However, players on both teams seemed to think it was an incomplete pass. Multiple players were just standing around looking at the ball on the ground before Stafford ran to the ball and jumped on top of it. Only then did the officials blow the play dead.

Cardinals defensive lineman Jordan Phillips was the closest player to the ball and easily could have recovered it if he had realized it was a fumble, not an incomplete pass. The Rams scored a touchdown two plays later, so the Cardinals’ failure to recognize the fumble and recover it was a huge play in the game, which the Rams ended up winning by seven points.

It was a heads-up play by Stafford and a major missed opportunity for the Cardinals.

7 responses to “Matthew Stafford fumbled, and appeared to be the only one who realized it

  1. I was surprised that no one jumped on it either. Usually teams jump on the ball regardless if they think it was incomplete just in case of this scenario. That one is going to hurt in the film room tommorrow.

  2. Yeah, given that every time we get a tie we have players who don’t know it’s possible, I can believe that they don’t know the Tuck Rule was abolished in 2013…

  3. Say what you will about Stafford, but he looked like a 19 year old WR diving on that fumble. He cares; gets a tip of the cap.

  4. I wonder if that analysis would have held up after review? I did run the play back on my dvr and also watched the replay on slo mo and based on previous experience with this situation I felt that it would have been ruled incomplete.

    But that is just my opinion and it is like an elbow/\

  5. Who cares? He did and that was the right thing to do. The way these plays are called, it could have been an incomplete pass, but the key here was the blind refs didn’t blow the whistle. The also missed an obvious face mask.

  6. And the broadcast crew didn’t even point it out. 1st MNF game I’ve watched any part of, and I seriously forgot how bad Brian Greise is.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.