Joe Burrow wins comeback player of the year over Dak Prescott

Super Bowl LVI - Cincinnati Bengals Practice
Getty Images

Joe Burrow and Dak Prescott both had remarkable comeback seasons.

In the end, voters for the Associated Press’ comeback player of the year decided Burrow’s was more remarkable. Burrow was the winner of the award announced Thursday night at NFL Honors.

He received 28 votes to 21 for Prescott. Chargers defensive back Derwin James received the other vote.

Burrow tore the ACL and MCL in his left knee in Week 10 of his rookie season but was back for the opening weekend.

Burrow led the league with a 70.4 passer rating, passing for 4,611 yards with 34 touchdowns and 14 interceptions. The Bengals won the AFC North and went 10-6 in the 16 games Burrow started.

Prescott had a dislocated and compound fracture of his right ankle in Week 5 of the 2020 season, requiring immediate surgery. He required a second surgery in December to strengthen his ankle but returned to break Tony Romo’s team record for touchdown passes and led the Cowboys to the NFC East title.

4 responses to “Joe Burrow wins comeback player of the year over Dak Prescott

  1. Obviously let the playoffs sway their votes, which they’re not supposed to do. Dak Prescott’s return from that horrific ankle injury was far more impressive up until the playoffs.

  2. Numbers are almost the same, the results are not. Burrows looked much better as a player. Dak did what a 4th rounder does….. fail.

  3. All you Dallas fans laughed when we said Burrow would easily beat Dak out for this. Hell, Id give it to Nick Bosa before Dak. He was a top 3 edge rusher after tearing ACL, not easy to bend and explode they way you need to when you play like Bosa. Dak was a middle of the pack QB who lit up the weakest division in the NFL

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.