Hall of Fame announces finalists in Seniors, Coach/Contributor categories

New York Jets v Atlanta Falcons
Getty Images

The Pro Football Hall of Fame has narrowed down the lists of candidates for election in 2023’s vote in the Seniors and Coach/Contributor categories.

There are 12 finalists in each group. Committees will meet in August to send three candidates in the Seniors category and one in the Coach/Contributor category to the full selection committee for consideration at their annual meeting early next year. All four candidates can be elected for induction in the Hall during that meeting.

In the Seniors category, the finalists are former Bengals quarterback Ken Anderson, former Eagles and Rams linebacker Maxie Baughan, former Broncos linebacker Randy Gradishar, former Cowboys linebacker Chuck Howley, former Packers running back/defensive back Cecil Isbell, former Jets defensive tackle Joe Klecko, former Dolphins guard Bob Kuechenberg, former Rams cornerback Eddie Meador, former Falcons linebacker Tommy Nobis, former Bengals defensive back Ken Riley, former Packers wide receiver Sterling Sharpe, and former Cowboys and Giants cornerback Everson Walls.

The Coach/Contributor finalists are television executive Roone Arledge, former Cardinals and Chargers coach Don Coryell, former Packers and Seahawks coach Mike Holmgren, former personnel executive Frank “Bucko” Kilroy, Patriots owner Robert Kraft, former Browns/Ravens owner Art Modell, former Lions head coach Buddy Parker, former Broncos, Giants and Falcons head coach Dan Reeves, Steelers owner Art Rooney Jr., former Raiders, Broncos and Washington head coach Mike Shanahan, former Rams head coach and longtime NFL assistant Clark Shaughnessy, and longtime NFL scout and personnel executive/current director of the Fritz Pollard Alliance John Wooten.

23 responses to “Hall of Fame announces finalists in Seniors, Coach/Contributor categories

  1. If Levy can make it into Canton for losing 4 Super Bowls, its only fair that Reeves gets the same treatment. And while on former Cowboys, Walls first made Montana famous, so he should get in as well.

  2. Dan Reeves. Dude was in league/coaching for about 40 years. Coached good teams and played on SB winner.

  3. My order Ken Riley, top five all time interceptions. Ken Anderson, when he retired top 10 in many passing categories They just need bump due to playing in Cincy.

  4. How on earth is Lester Hayes not already in the hall of fame. Everson Walls isn’t worthy to carry his tube of Stickum.

  5. If Lynn Swan, Cliff Branch and Fred Biletnekoff are HOF worthy and averaged under 48 yards game receiving, then Sterling Sharpe certainly is.

  6. Holmgren should be in.

    Helped overhaul a terrible Packers team, took them to 2 Super Bowls
    Overhauled the Seahawks franchise, took them to their first Super Bowl
    THE QB Whisperer (Favre, Young, Hasselbeck, Brunell.. Montana won 2 MVPs with him)
    Arguably the best coaching tree of them all (Reid, Gruden, Mariucci, Sherman, McCarthy)

    Better resume than Cowher, Dungy and Vermeil.

  7. Seth Joyner needs more HOF love. Only NFL player with 50 career sacks and 20 career INTs

  8. It’s time for Sterling Sharpe to be enshrined.


    3x receptions leader, broke the NFL record back-to-back seasons
    2x receiving td leader
    1 of only 7 WRs to win the triple crown, the 2nd since the Merger when he did it in ’92

    All that in a 7-year injury-shortened career… while up against the greatest WR of all time in his prime.

    Truly dominant.

  9. Here’s riddle for you… which owner fired Paul Brown, Bill Belichick, banished football from northeast Ohio for 5 long years, and was so bankrupt because of bad football decisions that he fess forced to sell a team to a new owner who promptly won two Superbowls after he took over? Why that’s Art Modell, you win a helping of Blue crabs with plenty of Old Bay seasoning. This man was a net negative for football everywhere outside of the Baltimore Inner harbor. The only way he should get in is if there were a wing in Canton for football Hall of Infamy

  10. Not only should Modell not be inducted into the Hall of Fame, he should have never been permitted to visit it.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.