Brian Daboll, Kyle Shanahan, Doug Pederson are finalists for AP coach of the year

NFC Divisional Playoffs - New York Giants v Philadelphia Eagles
Getty Images

The Associated Press has announced its finalists for coach of the year and the list includes three strong contenders.

Brian Daboll, Kyle Shanahan, and Doug Pederson are the three head coaches up for the award.

Daboll — who was PFT’s coach of the year — took a Giants team that had not finished above .500 since 2016 and finished 9-7-1. The club went from 31st in both points scored and total yards in consecutive years under former head coach Joe Judge to No. 15 in points and No. 18 in total yards.

Shanahan’s 49ers team started the season with Trey Lance at quarterback but then went to Jimmy Garoppolo when Lance got hurt. And when Garoppolo was injured, the team turned to the last pick of the draft in quarterback Brock Purdy. San Francisco nevertheless won the NFC West at 13-4 and finished No. 5 in total yards and No. 6 in points scored.

After last year’s disaster under former head coach Urban Meyer, the Jaguars won the AFC South in the first season of Pederson’s tenure. Trevor Lawrence looked a lot more like a franchise quarterback in his second season, throwing for 25 touchdowns and eight interceptions in the regular season. As a rookie in 2021, Lawrence finished tied for the league lead with 17 interceptions and tossed just 12 touchdowns.

The AP coach of the year winner will be announced at NFL Honors on Feb. 9.

15 responses to “Brian Daboll, Kyle Shanahan, Doug Pederson are finalists for AP coach of the year

  1. Pederson should win it hands down. He took a totally dysfunctional team that had the worst record in the NFL and they won their Division and a playoff game. The Jags will be good for the next several years. Dabol won’t see continued success in New York he had a decent year but got embarrassed and exposed by the Eagles. The Giants will finish 3rd or 4th next year in their division. Shanahan has the best talent money can buy and they should be good even if you put Dak in at QB and they made the ayoffs last year.

  2. Gotta love that Zac Taylor gets no love. Another chip on the shoulder. Seriously back to back AFC Championships mean nothing.

  3. If Doug does not win it’s just wrong …..look what he did with that Jags team, the Jags culture , working with the owner. You can make a case he SAVED that whole organization.

  4. All of these coaches certainly deserve consideration. What Shanahan did on his 3rd string QB is great coaching. Daboll reserected a stagnant QB and HB. But my money is on Doug Peterson. He changed the culture of an entire organization. His leadership with front office, players and owner got a ship turned around faster than I imagined. Finished last in the NFL in 2021, won the division and a playoff game in 22. Turned a dyfunctional organization around after the previous HC debacles and got the young QB playing like a Francise QB. They built something sustainable. Jags will be a force well into the future IMO.

  5. It’s the dude who almost always gets his team to the championship…this year with his third-string rookie QB. C’mon…everyone else did a solid job but Shanahan knocked it out of the park.

  6. Kyle Shanahan had a system designed for Trey Lance, in which he had to revert back to the Jimmy G offense early in the season.

    The QB1 and QB2 were injured, our starting RB injured, OL banged up, two starting DTs injured, RCB1 injured, Deebo was injured and missed a couple of games and Kyle kept the ship steady and won 12 straight games.

    I already don’t respect the Hall of Fame because Roger Craig isn’t in it. If Kyle isn’t coach of the year, and John Lynch isn’t executive of the year I would lose respect for those awards. Nobody had done a better job than those two, and that’s why teams are poaching our coaching staff and front office execs….if there’s a better Head Coach and GM then teams need to start poaching their coaches and execs and leave ours alone.

  7. 3 worthy finalists. But let me ask you this, if Daboll and Pederson lost their first AND second string QBs during the season to injury, would either coach even realistically be in the conversation for this award any more?

    I think that answers the question of who should win.

  8. The Shanny Brat should win. He managed to go through three QB’s and still have his team in the conference championship. DaBull is full of it and Visor Boy is vaporware.

  9. Giants 1-4-1 against the NFL East. Lost 38-7 in the playoffs. Yeah, it’s coach gets my vote. Not even close.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.